Athens Elementary Teacher Receives Highest Honor

Athens Elementary Teacher Receives Highest Honor

 Press Release courtesy of Athens City Schools

ATHENS, Alabama, September 20, 2018 ---Mrs. Sue Noah, kindergarten teacher at iAcademy at Athens Elementary School (AES), has been selected as an elementary school mathematics finalist for the 2018 Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST). The PAEMST awards are the nation’s highest honors for K-12 mathematics and science teachers. The awards recognize teachers for contributions to the classroom and to the profession.

Mrs. Noah is one of three elementary mathematics finalists in the state of Alabama. The 2018 PAEMST awardee will be selected from the state finalists by a national selection committee at a later date according to Alabama State Department of Education. The national award carries a cash prize of $10,000 and a week-long trip to Washington, D.C to attend a series of recognition events and professional development opportunities.This honor clearly indicates Mrs. Noah’s ability and dedication in educating students. The award also recognizes her leadership and innovative teaching practices.

“Mrs. Noah exceeds expectations every day with her students. She is a passionate educator who cares deeply about the success of her students. Sue meets students where they are. She develops a relationship with each one and has high expectations for their growth. She is constantly learning, deepening her knowledge and commitment to her profession. We are very proud to have her on the staff of Athens Elementary School,” said AES principal Cindy Davis.

The National Science Foundation administers PAEMST on behalf of the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy. Enacted by Congress in 1983 and administered by the NSF on behalf of The White House Office of Science and Technology Policy, the PAEMST program identifies eligible K-12 teachers who exemplify the highest standards of mathematics and science teaching. Since 1983, more than 4,700 teachers have been recognized for their contributions to mathematics and science education. To learn more about the awards program, visit


Content Goes Here